September 15, 2016

Sept. 14, 2016—The Texas Education Agency (TEA) released its annual distinction designations for campuses earning the accountability rating of Met Standard in accountability ratings released last month.

Campuses that receive an accountability rating of Met Standard are eligible to earn distinction designations. Distinction designations are awarded for achievement in the following areas:

  • Academic Achievement in English Language Arts/Reading;
  • Academic Achievement in Mathematics;
  • Academic Achievement in Science;
  • Academic Achievement in Social Studies;
  • Top 25%: Student Progress;
  • Top 25%: Closing Performance Gaps; and
  • Postsecondary Readiness.


Each campus is assigned to a unique comparison group made up of Texas schools that are most similar to it. The groups are determined based on school type, grade levels served, size, percentage of students who are economically disadvantaged, mobility rate and the percentage of English language learners.

A campus earns a distinction designation if it is in the top quartile of its comparison group for at least 33 percent (high schools) and 50 percent (elementary and middle schools) of the indicators used to award the distinction.

Campuses earning one or more of these distinction designations met rigorous criteria to earn the highest level of recognition in the state accountability system.

Six CFISD campuses earned all possible distinction designations for their respective campus levels:

  • Holbrook, Pope and Sampson elementary schools;
  • Arnold and Cook middle schools; and
  • Langham Creek High School.

“I am very proud of the work that our campus leaders, teachers and curriculum staff did this past year,” said Dr. Linda Macias, associate superintendent of curriculum and instruction and accountability. “Their commitment to student success is evident with the number of distinction designations earned by our campuses. The former commissioner of education once shared that it is difficult to earn one distinction designation as it is the highest level of recognition a campus can receive. Collectively, our campuses earned a total of 222 distinction designations.”

The following CFISD campuses earned one or more distinction designations, with the total number of designations indicated in the far-right column:

[Enlarge Chart]

Campuses earning 2016 distincition designations

Javascript Required

Sorry, this site does not work properly without JavaScript enabled. Please enable JavaScript or contact your local administrator.